Mayor Jules Pipe re-elected as Chair of London Councils

  • By Anonymous (not verified)

Mayor Jules Pipe has been re-elected as chair of London Councils at the first Leaders' Committee meeting since the London Mayoral election. Cllr Claire Kober was re-elected as Deputy Chair.

London Councils makes the case to government and other agencies to get the best deal for Londoners and ensure that local authorities have the resources, freedoms and powers to do the best possible job for residents and local businesses.

London Councils’ Executive membership remains unchanged and Cllr Sarah Hayward, Leader of Camden Council, takes over the role of spokesperson for equality issues.

Chair of London Councils, Mayor Jules Pipe, said: “Boroughs are facing unprecedented challenges over the coming years – from squeezes on public finances and adult social care budgets to pressures on school places and housing supply.

“London Councils has long been calling for further devolution to address many of the capital’s problems and although substantial progress has been made, we cannot be complacent.

“As we enter this new phase of change – with new legislation on the table and a new Mayor – we will redouble our efforts and continue to stand with the boroughs to make the case for full and proper funding for the vital services Londoners need.”
London Councils’ Executive is:

  • Mayor Jules Pipe (Lab) - Chair of London Councils
  • Cllr Claire Kober (Lab) - Deputy Chair and executive member for infrastructure and regeneration
  • Cllr Peter John OBE (Lab) - Executive member for children, skills and employment
  • Cllr Teresa O'Neill (Con) - Vice Chair and executive member for health and Conservative Group Lead
  • Mark Boleat (Ind) - Vice Chair
  • Cllr Lib Peck (Lab) - Executive member for crime and public protection
  • Cllr Ruth Dombey (LibDem) - Vice Chair
  • Cllr Philippa Roe (Con) - Executive member for devolution and public service reform
  • Cllr Ray Puddifoot MBE (Con) - Executive member for adult social care
  • Mayor Sir Steve Bullock (Lab) - Executive member for housing
  • Cllr Julian Bell (Lab) - Chair of London Councils' Transport and Environment Committee

In addition, the Co-President of London Councils roles have been confirmed as:

  • Lord Toby Harris of Haringey (Lab)
  • The Baroness Hamwee (Lib Dem)
  • The Baroness Hanham CBE (Con)