

London Councils: Young People's Education & Skills – Operational Sub-group

Local Authority representation – ESF Steering Group Item No: 9

Report by: Mary Vine-Morris Job title: Director

Date: 6 May 2011

Contact Officer: Mary Vine-Morris

Telephone: 020 8929 3851 Email: Mary.Vine-Morris@lsc.gov.uk

Summary - On the 15th April, 14-19 colleagues were advised that there were

two places available on the ESF Steering Group for local authority representatives. They were asked to nominate suitable representatives for their cluster groups by Thursday 5th May. OSG members are asked to approve two further members from the

nominations received to sit on the ESF Steering Group.

Recommendations – OSG members are asked to approve two further members from the

nominations received, taking account of geographical coverage, to

participate on the ESF Steering Group.

1. Background and Introduction:

- 1.1 The aim of the ESF Steering Group is to strategically lead and co-ordinate work related to the ESF Priority 1.2 (Youth) London Programme in accordance with the ESF Regional Partnership Agreement,
- 1.2 The ESF Steering Group Terms of Reference under item 3 states membership to the group as follows:

3 Membership of the ESF Steering Group

- 3.1 The membership of the ESF Steering Group will comprise:
 - 3.1.1. Local Authority representatives (up to 3, of which one will be the Chair of ESF Working Group)
 - 3.1.2. Skills Funding Agency
 - 3.1.3. Young People's Learning Agency (YPLA)
 - 3.1.4. London Development Agency (LDA)
 - 3.1.5. National Apprenticeship Service (NAS)

- 3.1.6. Greater London Authority
- 3.1.7. London Councils' 14-19 Regional Planning group (RPG)
- 3.2 The ESF Steering Group may co-opt advisers permanently or to attend all or any part of any meeting or sequence of meetings. Chairs or other officers of working groups or temporary task groups may be similarly invited by the Chair. The OSG or the RPG may appoint observers to the ESF Steering Group.
- 3.3 Substitutes are at the discretion of the chair.

2. Proposed process

- 2.1 14-19 colleagues were asked to nominate suitable representatives to the group on the understanding that if we received several nominations, OSG members would make a decision between the nominees to ensure a fair and transparent process has been applied.
- 2.2 OSG members will discuss the merits of each nomination, taking account of geographical coverage. Jo Baty, Chair of the ESF Steering Group is a member of the ESF East Cluster. The ESF Cluster Map is attached as Appendix 1. A single vote per member per nomination will determine the success of the nominee.

3. Nominations

Name	Local Authority	ESF Cluster Group (that would be represented should the nomination be successful)
Jo Margrie	Hackney (Learning Trust)	North Cluster
Darren Ardeman	Barnet	North Cluster
Debi Christie	Bromley	South Cluster
Trevor Cook	Havering	East Cluster
Eryl Shaw	Lambeth	Central Cluster
Holly Toft	Islington	Central Cluster

4. Recommendation

4.1 OSG members are asked to approve two further members from the nominations received, taking account of geographical coverage, to participate on the ESF Steering Group.