

# Leaders' Committee

# **Appointments**

Item no 10

Report by: Derek Gadd Job title: Head of Governance

Date: 6 December 2016

Contact Officer: Derek Gadd

Telephone: 020 7934 9505 Email: derek.gadd@londoncouncils.gov.uk

Summary: Changes to Leaders' Committee sub-committees such as the

Executive (including its substitutes), the Capital Ambition Board and the Audit Committee and the appointment of party group

leads must be made by Leaders' Committee.

**Recommendations:** 

Leaders' Committee is recommended to:

 Agree to the replacement on the Capital Ambition Board and Audit Committee of Cllr Jas Athwal (Labour, Redbridge) by Cllr Fiona Colley (Labour, Southwark). These changes to take effect on 1<sup>st</sup> January 2017;

- Appoint Cllr Denise Hyland (Labour, RB Greenwich) as the Labour Party lead on Health and Children's Safeguarding;
- Make any further appointments of party group leads that were not made at the AGM and agree the posts and responsibilities set out in the grid attached as Appendix 1
- Appoint any additional substitutes for the Executive that may be required.

## Changes to committee membership

- Changes to Leaders' Committee sub-committees such as the Executive (including its substitutes), the Capital Ambition Board and the Audit Committee and the appointment of party group leads must be made by Leaders' Committee.
- 2. Leaders' Committee is recommended to:
  - Agree to the replacement on the Capital Ambition Board and Audit Committee of Cllr Jas Athwal (Labour, Redbridge) by Cllr Fiona Colley (Labour, Southwark).
     These changes to take effect on 1<sup>st</sup> January 2017;
  - Appoint Cllr Denise Hyland (Labour, RB Greenwich) as the Labour Party lead on Health and Children's Safeguarding;
  - Make any further appointments of party group leads that were not made at the AGM and agree the posts and responsibilities set out in the grid attached as Appendix 1;
  - Appoint any additional substitutes for the Executive that may be required.

**Appendix** - Lead Members and Portfolios – 2016/17

### **Financial Implications for London Councils**

There are no financial implications for London Councils as a result of this paper.

#### **Legal Implications for London Councils**

There are no legal implications for London Councils as a result of this paper.

#### **Equalities implications for London Councils**

There are no Equalities implications for London Councils as a result of this paper.

Item 10 - Appendix One: Lead Members and Portfolios - 2016/17

Policy area	Portfolio holder/Chair	Party lead (Labour)	Party lead (Conservative)	Other (LD unless stated otherwise)
Chair including:     Finance and     Resources     Devolution and     Public Service     Reform     Overall Strategy     Welfare Reform	Cllr Claire Kober		Cllr Teresa O'Neill OBE	
Health and Child				
Safeguarding	Cllr Kevin Davis	Cllr Denise Hyland		
Adult Services	Cllr Ray Puddifoot MBE	Cllr Richard Watts		
Housing	Mayor Sir Steve Bullock		Cllr Ravi Govindia	
Business, Skills and Brexit (including work and employment and schools)	Cllr Peter John		Cllr Teresa O'Neill OBE (Skills)  Cllr David Simmonds CBE (Schools)	
Crime and Public Protection	Cllr Lib Peck		Cllr Richard Cornelius	
Greater London Employment Forum	Cllr Doug Taylor		Cllr Angela Harvey	Cllr Richard Clifton
Transport and Environment	Cllr Julian Bell	Cllr Feryal Demirci	Cllr Timothy Coleridge	Cllr Jill Whitehead
Capital Ambition	Mr Edward Lord (City)	Cllr Stephen Alambritis; Cllr Jas Athwal (until 31/12/16); Cllr Fiona Colley (from 1/1/17)	Cllr David Simmonds CBE Cllr Nicolas Paget-Brown	
Audit Committee	Cllr Roger Ramsey	Cllr Stephen Alambritis; Cllr Jas Athwal (until 31/12/16); Cllr Fiona Colley (from 1/1/17)		Roger Chadwick (City) Cllr Simon Wales
Grants	Cllr Paul McGlone	Cllr Forhad Hussain	Cllr Stephen Carr	Cllr Simon Wales
Equalities	Cllr Sarah Hayward			
City Development (including infrastructure, planning, high streets, leisure, arts, sport)	Cllr Darren Rodwell		Cllr Ravi Govindia (Infrastructure/planning) Cllr Kevin Davis (Arts)	
Pensions CIV Sectoral Joint Committee	Mark Boleat	Cllr. Yvonne Johnson	Cllr. Maurice Heaster	

**Elected Officers for Leaders' Committee:** Chair-Cllr Kober; Deputy Chair – Cllr John; Vice Chairs – Cllr O'Neill, Cllr Dombey, Mr Boleat

### **Group Whips**

Cllr Clyde Loakes, Cllr Ravi Govindia

**Substitutes** *Labour*: Exec: Cllr Clyde Loakes (Waltham Forest), Cllr Doug Taylor (Enfield); <u>CAB and Audi</u>t: Cllr Paul McGlone (Lambeth), Cllr Theo Blackwell (Camden). *Conservative* Exec Cllr Ravi Govindia (Wandsworth),). <u>Audit</u>; Cllr Damian White (Havering), <u>CAB</u>: Cllr Kevin Davis (Kingston).